Michigan 4-H Foundation


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Michigan 4-H Foundation elected officers and board of trustee members at meetings on Sept. 29 in East Lansing. Trustees were elected during the annual membership meeting in the morning and officers were elected at the fall board meeting later that day.

Officers elected for 2023-2024

Thomas L. Bosserd, Plymouth, was reelected president of the Michigan 4-H Foundation board of trustees.

Headshot of Tom Bosserd
Thomas L. Bosserd, Plymouth, President of the Michigan 4-H Foundation board of trustees.

A Michigan 4-H Foundation trustee since 2016, Bosserd is a Calhoun County 4-H alumnus and was raised on a dairy farm near Marshall. He chaired the foundation’s facilities committee from 2017 to 2022 and led the sale of Kettunen Center.

Bosserd recently retired from his farm appraisal business and from Halderman’s Farm Management and Real Estate Services. Before joining Halderman, Bosserd had worked as a loan officer and appraiser for GreenStone Farm Credit Services for 20 years. He has been a certified general appraiser in Michigan since 1994 and a licensed real estate salesperson since 2002. He is a member of the American Society of Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers and is a past president of the Michigan chapter. Bosserd earned a bachelor’s degree from the MSU College of Business and a master’s degree from Eastern Michigan University, both in business administration.

Also reelected as officers were: Vice president Andrew Walker, West Branch, chief assistant prosecuting attorney for Ogemaw County; and Secretary Julie Chapin, Portland, state leader for Michigan 4-H Youth Development and MSU Extension Children and Youth director. Mark Koester, DeWitt, vice president and director of finance and accounting for GreenStone Farm Credit Services, was elected treasurer. The immediate past president is Sheila W. Kneeshaw, Detroit.

Board of trustee election results

Reelected to three-year terms on the board were Sheila Burkhardt, Novi, and Bruce Sutherland, Okemos. Koester’s August election as a trustee by the board was confirmed by the membership at the annual meeting. Rhonda and Thomas Coon, Portage, were elected to new terms as trustees by the membership.

Youth trustee Grace DeFrancesco’s term expired at the annual meeting, when she was recognized for her service. Melissa Humphrey was also recognized for her service as a trustee representing GreenStone Farm Credit Services. Humphrey resigned from the board after serving as board treasurer and finance committee chair for the past five years.

Sara A. (Sally) Stuby also retired from the board and was recognized for her tenure and leadership of the Michigan 4-H Foundation. During her 14 years as a trustee, she served as board president, vice president, immediate past president, board development committee chair and most recently, chair of the personnel committee.