Foundation to host Annual Meeting & 4-H Emerald Awards Oct. 5

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Michigan 4-H Foundation is hosting its annual membership meeting and the Michigan 4-H Emerald Awards Ceremony on Fri., Oct. 5, 2018 at the Kellogg Hotel and Conference Center at Michigan State University in East Lansing, Mich.

The Michigan 4-H Foundation Annual Membership Meeting will be from 2:30-4 p.m. Agenda items include trustee elections, audited financial statement report, 2018 president’s report and recognition of major donors to 4 H within the past year. Donors are encouraged to attend and vote on all items at the meeting.

The Michigan 4-H Emerald Awards begin at 5 p.m. with a reception, followed by dinner and the awards ceremony. The 4-H Emerald Awards honor Michigan 4-H’s outstanding 4-H alumni, volunteers and partners. These awards are provided by Michigan 4-H Youth Development with support from the Michigan 4-H Foundation.

Serving as Masters of Ceremonies is Montcalm County 4-H alumnus, Judy Emmons, Michigan Senator and 2014 4-H Emerald Clover Society member.

Reservations may be made online or by calling at (517) 353-6692 by Sept. 20. Admission to the annual membership meeting is complimentary. The 4-H Emerald Awards Ceremony is $125/person.

A block of rooms has been reserved for guests at the Quality Inn and Suites (901 Delta Commerce Drive, Lansing, MI 48917) for $130/night. To make hotel reservations, please call the hotel at (517) 886-0600 and ask for the MSU 4-H rate.


Michigan 4-H Citation Awards

Since its inception in 1946, the Michigan 4-H Citation Award, the highest recognition presented by Michigan 4-H, has honored and recognized individuals and organizations whose contributions to and support of MSU Extension 4-H Youth Development programs, have significantly advanced the work of Michigan 4-H on a multicounty, regional, statewide and/or national basis. The contributions of honorees have served to expand the capacity of Michigan 4-H to make a positive impact on the lives of Michigan’s young people in significant and meaningful ways. 4-H Citation Award recipients are:

  • Dale and Sara Stuby, Constantine
  • GreenStone Farm Credit Services

Michigan 4-H Emerald Clover Society

The Michigan 4-H Emerald Clover Society (ECS) honors Michigan 4-H alumni whose professional leadership and community service reflect the ultimate outcome of 4-H membership – extraordinary use of an individual’s head, heart, hands and health to make communities, the country and the world better places in which to live. ECS members receive a recognition award, an exclusive ECS membership pin, and individual biographical recognition on the society’s website and on the ECS wall at Kettunen Center. Emerald Clover Society inductees are:

  • Darwin Booher, Evart
  • Domonique Clemons, Flint
  • Ronald Hendrick, East Lansing
  • Barbara Haynes Heyboer, Hudsonville
  • W.G. (Mac) McPerson, Lowell
  • Thomas Nugent, Clarksville
  • Maggie Sans, Clarkston
  • Gretna Van Fleet, Frankenmuth

ECS members are inducted every two years. The inaugural class was inducted in 2002 in honor of the national 4-H centennial. Honoree biographies and nomination forms are available at

Michigan 4-H Salute to Excellence Awards

The 4-H Salute to Excellence Awards honor outstanding volunteers for their dedication to youth. The Lifetime Volunteer Award is presented to a 4-H volunteer who has spent 10 or more years volunteering for 4-H; the Volunteer of the Year Award is presented to a 4-H volunteer with less than 10 years of service. Recipients of each award are submitted for regional and national 4-H recognition honors. This award is funded by the Michigan 4-H Volunteer Recognition Fund. For more information on the 4-H Salute to Excellence Awards and past honorees, visit The 2018 4-H Salute to Excellence honorees are:

Outstanding 4-H Volunteer

  • Cheryl Barton, Owosso

4-H Volunteers of the Year

  • Brenda Alverson, Grand Blanc
  • Gordon Ridenour, Niles

Learn more about the 4-H Salute to Excellence honorees.

MFB 4-H Excellence in Agriculture Awards

The Michigan Farm Bureau (MFB) 4-H Excellence in Agriculture Award, funded by the MFB 4-H Excellence in Agriculture Endowment Fund, recognizes outstanding achievements of Michigan 4-H volunteers or groups that have exhibited excellence in 4-H youth education and leadership development in the areas of 4-H beef cattle; dairy cattle; goats; horses; horticulture, crops and soils; poultry; rabbits; sheep; swine; and veterinary science. Honorees designate a $1,000 award to a 4-H agricultural program of their choice. For more information on the MFB 4-H Excellence in Agriculture Award and past honorees, visit

The 2018 recipients are:

  • Diane Keinath, Frankenmuth
  • Mary Hutka, Novi
  • Kathy Grau and Mary Hammer, Chelsea

The 2017 recipients are:

  • Melanie Barnes, Whittemore
  • Michelle Barnes, Battle Creek
  • Tiffany Spedowski, Standwood