Campaign Leadership

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leadership for The Campaign for Michigan 4-H’s Future  includes the Leadership 10, a group of 4-H campaign volunteers; trustee  leadership, supporting the Leadership 10 in campaign fund  development; and foundation staff members, providing guidance  and support for the foundation’s campaign volunteers.

The Michigan 4-H Foundation’s Leadership 10 is a group of 10 couples who have assumed the role of serving as the face of the capital campaign by sharing their compelling 4-H story and support of Michigan 4-H. These carefully selected individuals provide their leadership through their generous gifts and participation in foundation campaign activities.

The Leadership 10 comprises:


  • Tom and Rhonda Coon

    Tom Coon is the former director of MSU Extension, and current vice president, dean and director of the Division of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources at Oklahoma State University. His wife, Rhonda, is an Iowa 4-H alumna and former director of the Iowa 4-H Foundation.

  • Julie and Larry Chapin

    Ottawa County 4-H alumna, Julie Chapin is director of the MSU Extension Institute for Children and Youth, and in that role she also serves as Michigan’s state 4-H leader and secretary of the Michigan 4-H Foundation board. Larry is a 4-H volunteer and conducts research in the MSU Department of Animal Science.

  • Arlon and Shirley Elser

    Hillsdale County 4-H alumnus Arlon Elser is the former program director of the W.K. Kellogg Foundation and vice chair of Whitestone Keep, LLC. He and his wife, Shirley, a Branch County 4-H alumna, have been donors to the Michigan 4-H Foundation and MSU College of Agriculture and Natural Resources.

  • Don and Becky Jost

    Don is executive director emeritus of the Michigan 4-H Foundation and a Kent County 4-H alumnus. He was the Ingham County 4-H agent before assuming leadership of the Michigan 4-H Foundation. His wife Becky, is an MSU Human Resources retiree.

  • Russ* and Lou Ann Mawby

    Russell Mawby is retired chairman emeritus of the W.K. Kellogg Foundation, former state 4-H leader and a Kent County 4-H alumnus. Primary areas of support interest has been Kettunen Center and the Michigan 4-H Children’s Gardens. *In memorium October 20, 2017.

  • Lowell and Marilyn Rothert

    Lowell Rothert is retired MSU Extension 4-H program leader for science and agriculture education. Marilyn Rothert is retired dean emerita of the MSU College of Nursing. They have been donors to 4-H for over three decades.

  • Ron and Jeannie Schoen

    Ron Schoen is the current treasurer of the Michigan 4-H Foundation and recently retired as CFO of the Accident Fund Holdings. He and his wife Jeannie are long-time donors to the Michigan 4-H Children’s Gardens and Jeannie had been a garden volunteer upon its opening.

  • Sandy and Noel Stuckman

    Sandy is retired and served as a state 4-H leader in Michigan. She and her husband, Noel, have been major donors to 4-H and the Michigan 4-H Foundation for a number of years, focused on a variety of program priorities.

  • Sara and Dale Stuby

    Dale and Sara (Sally) Stuby are 4-H parents, volunteers, donors and alumni from St. Joseph County. Sally served as a regional director for MSU Extension for the Southwest Region before retirement and currently serves as a Michigan 4-H Foundation trustee.

  • Michael and Winifred Tate

    Michael is a retired Washington State University professor emeritus and former Michigan 4-H State Leader. He and his wife Winifred, have a legacy of support for 4-H programs with particular interest for the Michigan 4-H Children’s Gardens.

The Michigan 4-H Foundation’s Resource Development Committee provides leadership for the board’s campaign solicitation efforts and supports the Leadership 10 volunteers. The Resource Development Committee members are:

  • Sheila Kneeshaw, chair
  • Sheila Burkhardt
  • Mary Draves
  • John Hatfield
  • Emily Kittendorf
  • Sheila Urban Smith