Outstanding Michigan 4-H alumni, volunteers and partners recognized at 4-H Emerald Awards ceremony

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Nineteen Michigan 4-H alumni and volunteers were recognized Oct. 5 during the 4-H Emerald Awards Ceremony in East Lansing. The awards presented at the event are among some of Michigan 4-H’s highest honors for 4-H alumni, volunteers and partners.

The ceremony was emceed by State Sen. Judy Emmons, a Montcalm County 4-H alumna and 2014 4-H Emerald Clover Society inductee. The awards are provided by Michigan 4-H Youth Development with support from the Michigan 4-H Foundation. Learn more about the 4-H Emerald Awards.

Michigan 4-H Citation Awards
The Michigan 4-H Citation Awards, the highest recognition presented by Michigan 4-H, recognizes significant contributions to Michigan 4-H programs, were awarded to GreenStone Farm Credit Services and Dale and Sara Stuby, of St. Joseph County.

Since its inception in 1946, this award has honored and recognized individuals and organizations whose contributions to and support of 4-H have significantly advanced the work of Michigan 4-H on a multicounty, regional, statewide and national basis to make positive impacts on the lives of Michigan’s young people in significant ways.

Michigan 4-H Emerald Clover Society
Inducted into the Michigan 4-H Emerald Clover Society (ECS) were: Darwin Booher, Evart; Domonique Clemons, Flint; Ronald Hendrick, East Lansing; Barbara Haynes Heyboer, Hudsonville; W. G. (Mac) McPherson, Lowell; Thomas Nugent, Clarksville; Maggie Sans, Clarkston; and Gretna Van Fleet, Frankenmuth.

This society – Michigan’s 4-H alumni hall of fame – honors alumni whose professional leadership and community service reflect the ultimate outcome of 4-H membership. ECS members receive a recognition award, an exclusive membership pin and recognition on the ECS wall at Kettunen Center. ECS members are inducted every two years.

Michigan 4-H Salute to Excellence Awards
The 4-H Salute to Excellence Awards, honor remarkable 4-H volunteers who have contributed substantially to both their county and state 4-H programs. The Lifetime 4-H Volunter, honored for 10 or more years of volunteer service, is Cheryl Barton of Shiawassee County. Brenda Alverson, Genesee County and Gordon Ridenour, Cass County were recognized as 4-H Volunteers of the Year, an award for volunteers with less than 10 years of service.

Each will have a brick engraved with his or her name to be placed in the 4-H Salute to Excellence trillium walkway at Kettunen Center. Honorees also select a Michigan 4-H program at the county or state level to receive a $400 recognition grant in their honor, made possible by the Michigan 4-H Volunteer Recognition Fund.

MFB 4-H Excellence in Agriculture Awards
The Michigan Farm Bureau (MFB) 4-H Excellence in Agriculture Awards, funded by the MFB 4-H Excellence in Agriculture Endowment, recognizes 4-H volunteers who exhibit excellence in 4-H youth education and leadership in agriculture-related areas. Honorees designate a $1,000 grant to a 4-H agrcultural program of their choice.

The 2018 recipients are Mary Hutka of Oakland County, Diane Keinath, of Saginaw County, and Kathy Grau and Mary Hammer of Washtenaw County.

The 2017 recipients were also recognized at the ceremony: Melanie Barnes, Iosco County; Michelle Barnes, Calhoun County; and Tiffany Spedowski, Mecosta County.